San Cristobal

San Cristóbal de la Habana was the original name of Havana, Cuba’s capital city, when it was founded in 1519; San Cristóbal (St Christoper) in honour of Columbus and La Habana after an Indian name for the site.
San Cristóbal de la Habana cigars were introduced in 1999 on the threshold of the new Millennium as a tribute to the city’s long history.
At first the range comprised four vitolas, each named after one of the fortresses that defended Havana when it was the hub of Spain’s American empire. These are: El Morro, La Fuerza, La Punta and El Principe.
In 2004, three new sizes were added, which are unique to San Cristóbal. These are named after well-known streets in Havana’s 17th century Old Town: Muralla, Mercederes and Oficios. However, all of these have since been discontinued and, while some may still be found in UK shops, the range in current production stands at three vitolas.
All San Cristóbal’s vitolas are ‘Tripa larga, totalmente a mano’ – long filler, totally handmade to a light to medium flavoured blend of filler and binder leaves from the Vuelta Abajo tobacco zone.

Showing all 3 results